Thoughts and Comments on the Demo

Previous topic - Next topic

Halcyon_Serenade

I just started playing, and have a few comments already.  I'll type this post as I'm playing to get the purist reactions.  Since I know this is such an early demo, I won't make any comments on lack of content or interactibility with any elements (gameplay elements, not magical elements), unless I find lack of content in that area both particularly disturbing and likely (i.e. nowhere that there would obviously be more content later, but somewhere I would hate to not have content).  We'll see if there's anything like that at all.

First room (library, I guess?):
I like the art style, it's reminiscent of the mid King's Quest series, but with a little higher resolution.  At first, I thought it was a little too high of resolution to maintain the style, but I like it for the clarity it provides, and the visible pixels are comforting.  I adore the choppy animations.  Stylistically choppy.  The very smooth screen pan is a little jarring though, when everything else is either choppy or static.  The screen pan makes for good "camera" effect, sure, but the graphical feel it produces seems...weird.  I dunno, I don't seem to remember panning scenes much in the King's Quest games (my only experience with this genre, by the way, unless you count Myst), except VII, which was a different graphical style, anyway.  I could do without the screen panning for style's sake, but it's not terribly immersion breaking.
I like the running idea.  Double clicking is intuitive, and walking takes forever.  Good call, great idea.  I could use the ability to scroll through the Sierra-type icons with the mouse wheel, though.  My muscle memory tells me you could do that with the King's Quest III remake at least (though your brain can do weird things, so my finger and I may be remembering that incorrectly).